The Beatitudes

The Beatitudes

© Rhonda Pethoud 2-16-2016

The Beatitudes are often misunderstood, but studying them is a great way to get a feel for the heart of God.

Matthew 5:3     The Beatitudes  (from Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount)

  • Blessed (happy) (are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven; (poor in spirit is to be conscious of moral poverty as will be the citizens of the Kingdom of Heaven)
  • Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted;  (those who mourn are those who are grieved over personal sinfulness, and they will be comforted by the Holy Spirit)
  • Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth; (the meek are those who are not self-righteous; they are those who believe they are made righteous only by the blood of Jesus.  Their inheritance will be in the coming Kingdom Age when Christ rules the earth.)
  • Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled;(those who have an intense desire for God’s righteousness shall be filled by the finished work of Jesus Christ on the cross.)
  • Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy; (those who actually show mercy to others, not simply talk about it or think about it or vote for others to do it for them; to receive mercy from God, one must show mercy to others.)
  • Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God; (the pure in heart are those who have received a new moral nature through regeneration in Christ; they will see Him manifest Himself in their life.)
  • Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called sons of God. (the peacemakers are those who have peace with God which comes with Salvation.)
  • Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. (those who operate from self-rightousness will persecute those who trust in God’s Righteousness which comes solely from Christ.)

Credit: Expositor’s Bible

This entry was posted in Archives. Bookmark the permalink.